CUREE Banner

Three CUREE Members Inducted Into The National Academy of Engineering

We are proud to announce that three CUREE members were among 69 new members and 11 foreign associates recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Gregory G. Deierlein, professor, department of civil and environmental engineering, and John A. Blume Professor in the School of Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif. For development of advanced structural analysis and design techniques and their implementation in design codes.

Edward Kavazanjian Jr., senior sustainability scientist, Global Institute of Sustainability, and professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering, Arizona State University, Tempe. For geotechnical engineering for municipal solid-waste management, earthquake hazard mitigation, and safety of transportation facilities.

Sharon L. Wood, Robert L. Parker Sr. Centennial Professor and chair, department of civil, architectural, and environmental engineering, University of Texas, Austin. For design of reinforced concrete structures and associated seismic instrumentation for extreme loadings and environments.

Click here for the full list of newly elected members and foreign associates with their primary affiliations at the time of election and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishments.


Professor Gregory G. Deierlein

Professor Edward Kavazanjian

Professor Sharon L. Wood

© CUREE. All rights reserved.
Consortium of Universities for Research in Earthquake Engineering
last updated 02.07.13