CUREE: The Organization
CUREE is a non-profit organization devoted to the advancement of earthquake engineering research, education and implementation.

CUREE Projects
Membership Information
Faculty Position Openings
Member Database
CUREE Newsletters

Organization : About CUREE : Past Presidents
Past Presidents
Wilfred Iwan Wilfred Iwan - Caltech (1988-1991)
Wilfred Iwan, a professor emeritus of applied mechanics at the California Institute of Technology, and director of Caltech's Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory was the 2002 recipient of the Alquist Medal by the California Earthquake Safety Foundation for "his lifetime of service to the profession of structural engineering and its application to the safety of the people of California and the world [more]
Haresh Shah Haresh Shah - Stanford University (1992-1993)
Professor emeritus, Haresh Shah has been a pioneer in the fields of risk analysis, earthquake engineering, and probabilistic methods for over 35 years. He has served Stanford University in many capacities, including Chairman of the Department of Civil Engineering and Founding Co-Director of the John A. Blume Earthquake Engineering Center. [more]
Stephen Mahin Stephen Mahin - UC Berkeley (1994-1996)
Stephen Mahin is the Byron and Elvira Nishkian Professor of Structural Engineering at the University of California at Berkeley. He has wide-ranging interests in the field of earthquake engineering. His research work focuses on integrating high performance numerical and experimental simulation methods to improve understanding of the seismic behavior of systems, and applying that understanding to improve earthquake performance. [more]
Helmut Krawinkler Helmut Krawinkler - Stanford University (1997-1998)
Helmut Krawinkler is the John A. Blume Professor of Engineering at Stanford University. He received an Engineering Diploma from the Technical University Vienna, Austria, an M.S. degree from San Jose State University, and a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley. His research focuses on the seismic behavior of steel and reinforced concrete structures and on the development of general concepts for performance-based seismic design. [more]
James Beck James Beck - Caltech (1998-1999)
James Beck is Professor of Applied Mechnics and Civil Engineering, and Executive Officer for these departments, at Caltech. Jim has broad research interests in earthquake engineering and structural dynamics. [more]
Karl Romstad Karl Romstad - UC Davis (1999)
Professor emeritus, Karl Romstad served as chair of the Civil Engineering Department at UC Davis. His areas of earthquake engineering research include nonlinear dynamic analysis using reduced order models; soil-structure interaction in bridge abutment systems, soil-pile systems and reinforced earth systems; and development of damage calibrated response spectra. [more]
Gerard Pardoen Gerard Pardoen - UC Irvine (1999-2001)
Gerard Pardoen, professor emeritus of Civil & Environment Engineering at the University of California, Irvine, obtained his BS in Civil Eng. from the University of Pennsylvania and MSCE and Ph.D. degrees in Civil Eng. from Stanford University. His research interests include analytical and experimental vibration methods, nonlinear response of shell membrane structures as well as the cyclic testing and behavior of concrete and timber structures. [more]
Andre Filiatrault André Filiatrault - University at Buffalo, SUNY (2001-2002)
André Filiatrault, Ph.D. -- a leading expert on shake-table testing of structural and nonstructural building components, including electrical substation equipment -- is deputy director of the Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER) headquartered at the University at Buffalo. [more]
Roberto Leon - Georgia Tech (2003-2004)
Roberto T. Leon is professor in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. His research interests center on dynamic behavior and design of structures with partially restrained composite connections, composite floors and floor systems, bond of reinforcement under cyclic loads, testing of full-scale and model structures in the laboratory, and field instrumentation of structures. [more]
Andrew Whittaker Andrew Whittaker (2005-2011)
Dr. Whittaker is Professor and Chair in the Department of Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering at the University at Buffalo (UB) and is Director of the NSF-funded NEES facility that is housed in the Department. [more]

© CUREE. All rights reserved.
Consortium of Universities for Research in Earthquake Engineering
last updated 05.15.14